News:

Welcome Rad Power Bike owners!

Buying a Rad Power Bike? Support the forum and use my affiliate link: https://radpowerbikes.pxf.io/Wq1EzZ

Be sure to sign up for a free account to see posted images.

Note: To help support to ongoing costs of running
the site we use Amazon affiliate links.

Main Menu

Erractic motor behavior

Started by Bastien, September 22, 2024, 12:48:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic Support the rad owners forum

Bastien

Hi!

I've been using an RW4 daily for two years now, mainly for taking my kids to school and back. The mileage is fairly low, as I've just hit 2500 km.

The other day, the PAS (Pedal Assist System) stopped working suddenly in the middle of the road, at around 20 km/h. I stopped and suspected that one of the kids might have stepped on the power cable. After a quick check, it started working again. However, in the afternoon, neither the throttle nor the PAS would work at all. I gathered my energy and went to the school without PAS... then it suddenly started working again, only to stop shortly after.

I ran several tests: I checked the entire cable system, opened the controller to look for any damage, and disconnected the electronics from the brakes (as I read this could sometimes stop the motor), but nothing changed.

Occasionally, the throttle works, but with just enough power to make the wheel spin while on the stand, not when it's on the ground. Then it doesn't move the wheel at all, before working like a charm after powering off and on... then sotp working again. While trying out the bike, out of nowhere, the PAS starts working again, but with a horrible friction sound coming from the motor, which stops after a few seconds. Then the PAS cuts out again, and it sometimes comes back after a few minutes. It's really strange.